Approaching Shakespeare
Oxford Lecture Series by Professor Emma Smith

Each lecture in this series focuses on a single play by Shakespeare, and employs a range of different approaches to try to understand a central critical question about it. Rather than providing overarching readings or interpretations, the series aims to show the variety of different ways we might understand Shakespeare, the kinds of evidence that might be used to strengthen our critical analysis, and, above all, the enjoyable and unavoidable fact that Shakespeare’s plays tend to generate our questions rather than answer them.

  1. The Two Gentlemen of Verona
  2. Henry VI, Part 2
  3. The Merry Wives of Windsor
  4. All’s Well That Ends Well

  5. Cymbeline

  6. Timon of Athens

  7. Love’s Labour’s Lost

  8. Julius Caesar

  9. Romeo and Juliet

  10. Coriolanus

  11. Othello

  12. Henry V

  13. Measure for Measure

  14. Macbeth

  15. The Winter’s Tale

  16. Titus Andronicus

  17. Twelfth Night

  18. Richard II

  19. Antony and Cleopatra

  20. The Tempest

  21. Henry IV part 1

  22. The Comedy of Errors

  23. Richard III

  24. Pericles, Prince of Tyre

  25. King John

  26. King Lear

  27. As You Like It

  28. Hamlet

  29. Much Ado About Nothing

  30. A Midsummer Night’s Dream

  31. Taming of the Shrew

  32. The Merchant of Venice
    William Shakespeare Lectures

%d bloggers like this: